First – actually second! – weight target hit

First full day of Atkins and I’m below 200 lbs for the first time since the late 90’s or early 2000’s. 90.6kg = 199.3 lbs

So this is my second, maybe my third weight goal achieved on my way to 180 lbs. When I started the year I was about 210 or so, then I wavered a bit and went up to 215, so in May my first goal was to get past 210 because that seemed to be a ‘wall’ that I couldn’t get past for very long before. With 210 out of the way I set my sights on 205, then 200.

I was headed there anyway at some point (see the chart below) so I can’t put all the praise on the new diet – plus I did some mountain biking yesterday – but it’s helping me get past this no-exercise plateau.

Now that I’m biking again I’ll get back into weightlifting, which will just accelerate the weight loss.

If anyone is curious about the New Atkins, New You diet plan, it’s all on their website at www.atkins.com, and the book itself is only £4 on Amazon. Here’s the new plan in a nutshell (this is all on their website, the book has a lot of background but if you want to jump right in the full program is on the site):

Overview, Tips and Quick Start Guide, 53-page Carb Counter, Meal Planner

Induction
Acceptable Foods List (with Net Carbs count)
Reduce your carbohydrate intake to 20g Net Carbs per day. Salad greens and non-starchy vegetables should make up around 12 grams of Net Carbs per day. Stay on for 2 weeks, but you can stay on for longer.

Phase 2 is Ongoing Weight Loss or OWL
Acceptable Foods List (with Net Carbs count)
Start with 25 grams of Net Carbs per day. Each week, increase daily Net Carbs by 5 grams. Stay on OWL until you are within 10 lbs of your goal, then move to Pre-Maintenance.

Phase 3 is Pre-Maintenance
Acceptable Foods List (with Net Carbs count)
Net Carbs during this phase: Each week, increase daily Net Carbs by 10 grams
If you stall, drop back 10 grams of Net Carbs to find the number of carbs your body is best tuned for. You’ll end up around 60-100g of carbs per day. Once you’ve been at your goal weight for a month, move on to Lifetime Maintenance.

phase 4 is Lifetime Maintenance
Stick to the number of carbs you found in phase 3 (about 120g per day), they call this ACE or Atkins Carbohydrate Equilibrium – this should allow you to eat the foods you like and stay within 3-5 lbs of your target weight.

Leave a Reply

