Drew Carey loses 80 lbs and his Type II diabetes on low-carb diet & exercise

Normally I would never link to the People website, but this is a pretty good vindication of the power of low-carb diets:

Drew Carey this past January:

Drew Carey now, after a low-carb diet with a high intensity cardio training program:

A little more here on People

Is that enough proof that a low-carb diet is the way to go to lose weight?

Last week I was dipping into the 200 lb range for the first time since I was 25 or so.

This week, I’ve been under 200 lbs for the whole week so far. The only ‘rules’ I’m following are the Atkins Induction rules – I’m supposed to not have anything with sugar and no alcohol whatsoever, but I have to admit I’ve slipped a couple of times, but nothing really major. Well, except for the entire small bag of popcorn at the movies last week. My weight the next day was still the same as the day before, but I basically restarted the Induction phase, which is supposed to last 2 weeks.

If I continue losing a pound a week, I’ll reach 190 by my birthday, and hit my goal of 180 pounds or so by the end of the year.  Not too shabby.

Leave a Reply

