Diet, day 26

Well, I’m nearing the end of the diet, I’m on the last 5-day cycle (there are five 5-day cycles to go through).

Technically I should have finished yesterday, but I took a few days off here and there because of a weekend holiday trip and a lad’s night out for a friend who’s getting married soon. I ate sensibly on the holiday trip and even worked out on one of the days I was out of town, and the stag night turned out to be on the final cheat day, so that was alright – except for the copious amount of drinking I did, which was mostly low-calorie drinks except for bottle of cider, a bottle of wine and a white Russian. The day after the night out was meant to be a fast day but I was far too tired to care, but I didn’t gorge myself and ate a mostly-protein breakfast and ate a bit during the day.

Unfortunately I haven’t been able to get on a proper scale for a week or so, but I was able to get on the big postal box scale at work and at the start of cycle 4 I was about the same weight as at the start of cycle 3. I’m hoping I will have lost another kilo or so by the end of cycle 5, but I think I’m a ways off losing the 4-7kg I was hoping to drop at the start of the diet. The thing is, I don’t really know, but basically I’ll have to see where I am at the finish. I didn’t think I’d get the ‘up to 20-25 pounds’ promised in the diet literature, so I was hoping to be realistic with 10-15 pounds! 🙂

Another thing to consider, though, is that I’m probably putting on a nice amount of muscle, which weighs more than fat. I can almost certainly feel more muscle in my biceps, although my chest looks about the same. My legs have always been fairly muscular, if I can admit/brag about that, so no big changes there, but my arms definitely feel stronger. I haven’t measured my waist in a while either, but I’m hoping to be down another 1 to 1.5 inches for a total of 3 inches dropped in my waist by the end.

Is it a bit too early to be thinking and talking about what I’m expecting by Thursday? I don’t know, it’s just a couple of days to go and I’m looking forward to shifting to a different diet and a new workout routine. More on that later…

Leave a Reply

