Diet, day 4

Well I’m very very tired after last night! But I stuck to my plan and had diet drinks all night, except possibly for some of the drinks that were bought for me that may have been regular Coke.

Although today is a nice day because I can eat normal foods again (I had my traditional big weekend omelette with 2 slices of toast with butter and jam), it’s the toughest day as far as counting calories goes. Every slice of bread, every egg, every bit of meat has to be estimated for weight and added to my journal to make sure I don’t go too far over or under my nutrient goals for the day. I’m supposed to have 1650 calories spread out over several meals, with a nutrient split of 30% protein, 40% carbs, 30% fat.

It sounds really annoying to keep track of, but you only have to do the math once a week, after you weigh yourself and figure your body fat percentage, and and once you get the hang of how much food you need to eat it’s not that bad, really. But it is a pain in the ass when you start. The diet plan gives you the option of buying a worksheet that calculates how much food you need to eat if you just enter your weight and body fat percentage, but save the 12 bucks and skip the lazy person’s method, it really is simple math. You could do it on a Google Documents spreadsheet or Excel but it’s unnecessary.

Food enjoyed today:
3-egg omelette with onions, green peppers and hot sauce
toast with butter and jam
breakfast tea
Big Mac (yeah, really!) with the middle bun removed
chicken strips
a few (seriously, just a few) McD’s French fries
cold luncheon meats (ham, chicken, beef)
couple more slices of toast with butter

Leave a Reply

