Yes We Did! Obama is my President

Sorry to borrow the soon-to-be-overused line, but dammit, Obama WON!

And not just by a squeaker, not a safe margin, not even a landslide (which is what I thought it might be), but by a damn tail-tucking ROUT!

I was hearing more and more stuff as the days crept closer to the 4th that McCain was getting worse and worse polling numbers, his negative attacks were getting worse and worse and the pundits and news teams were giving him a smaller and smaller chance of winning.

Yesterday I decided I’d stay up as late as I could to watch the returns coming in, so I booked the morning off from work and got some Magner’s Irish cider ready and made a few sandwiches to occupy myself while I watch CNN international, the BBC and NBC coverage on British channel ITV. I also had the laptop open with about half a dozen websites open plus a couple of forums where people were keeping up-to-the-minute with the incoming results. By about 3 or 4 AM it was becoming clear but some states were really close, then Pennsylvania, Ohio were called for Obama and when the polls closed on the west coast all the channels didn’t even hesitate and just called Obama for the win.

And how sweet it was. To see 8 years of W going out the door, with long-time Washington power players getting the hell OUT, that can only be a good thing. Hopefully they’ve learned that negative campaigning doesn’t work and by mobilizing people who’ve been suppressed for decades you can make history.

I’m so proud to have been a part of it.

I’m proud to call myself American again.

I’m even proud to call myself Texan again, since San Antonio was one of the urban areas that went for Obama – even if McCain won the rest of the state.

It’s too bad the crowd at the McCain HQ didn’t have a tenth of the class of the Obama crowd – when McCain mentioned Obama, the crowd booed; when Obama mentioned McCain there were no boos and even a bit of applause. At least McCain sounded like the McCain of old and not the bitter old man he’d turned into earlier this year.

Anyway – I’m glad. I’m proud. I’m happy. I’m eager! And I’m anticipatory. I hope he maintains this momentum during his ‘first 100 days’ when the press watches to see who he gathers around him, who he picks for his cabinet, etc., and carries the momentum for the next four years.

Now to get W out of the White House, tar and feather the bastard and get the Obamas in!

2 thoughts on “Yes We Did! Obama is my President

  1. Forgive my enthusiasm 🙂 but 349 to 162 electoral votes, with wins in IN, VA, OH and FL…that’s pretty overwhelming and substantial to me. I’ll give you ‘rout’, of course I was carrying on a bit. I know with the popular vote he only won 52% of the votes, but I’m hoping his ‘first 100 days’ and choices for cabinet and advisors, etc., will proof to the people that didn’t vote for him that he’s a good guy. There’s a lot of expectation on his shoulders now and I’m sure the world is interested to see him follow through and deliver.

Leave a Reply

