100 pushups

So I finally decided to start the 100 pushups program.

This is a simple exercise program that is scheduled to get you to be able to do 100 pushups, non-stop, within 8 weeks. You start with a test to see how many pushups you can do while maintaining good form (chin up, back and legs straight) before you’re completey unable to do any more. I was able to do 16 before I lost the form, and a couple more after that.

You’re only asked to do exercises 3 days a week, and to start with they only take about 5 minutes to complete. Once you get into the third and fourth week they start taking a little longer (mainly for rest time between sets) but still – it’s only 3 days a week! So I figure why not.

I’ve been cycling to work, although not regularly, some weight has come off, and I think it’s time to start doing some strength exercises to complement the cardio I’m doing on the bike.

I’ll update from time to time about where I’m at with the pushup program, hopefully in a couple of months I’ll be hitting triple digits!

Leave a Reply

