I couldn’t care less

I’m usually a pretty bad grammar monkey, some folks online call us types ‘grammar nazis’, so when I hear people say things like ‘I should of‘ instead of ‘I should have‘, it really makes me cringe and want to say something, so I generally refrain unless I know the person. If I know them I’ll just take the piss out of them and make fun incessantly.

Another thing that bugs me, but not quite as much because it doesn’t really come up that much, is when people say, ‘I could care less’. I hear people say that, or ‘I couldn’t care less’, which is something else entirely, if you think about it.

If you CAN care less, that means there’s a bit of caring there. So you DO care a bit.

If you CAN’T care less, well there’s no lower you can go. You just…don’t…care. It is IMpossible for you to care any less than you do already.

Someone made a handy chart to illustrate this point:

 

 

Another term that annoys me: ‘any way, shape or form’ – just one will do, thanks! You don’t have to list every possible way, wherefore or art thou something can exist. Just adding this one for…the fun of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

