Still on the diet

Yep, I’m still on the diet. I’m doing pretty well, considering I haven’t really been exercising as much as I should. I’ve been telling myself I’ll start exercise once I’m over this cold, or I hit 210 lbs, or whatever, but I just haven’t really started yet. I go walking on the weekends, usually, with my girlfriend, but that’s about it. It’s usually a nice long walk, but fairly level and I’m not really pushing myself hard at all.

But even with all that I’ve lost about 7-8 pounds since the January, that’s about 0.6 pounds a week, a healthy loss. Here’s my weight chart:

Not bad, eh? It looks more impressive than it really is, I think, but it’s still nice to see 🙂

The way the chart works is, my average weight is the blue line. Every time my daily weigh-in is below the average, the daily weight is shown in the green. Every time my daily weight is above the average, the daily weight is shown in the red. Very simple and visual, perfect for someone like me.

Some people weigh themselves once a week or once a month, but that doesn’t take into account daily weight fluctuations at all. This method filters all that static, or ‘noise’, out and shows you very simply what you’re actually doing, and how you’re doing at any given time. Yes, the weight goes up from time to time but on the average it’s going down.

So how am I losing the weight? Simple. I’m just eating less. More salads, more fruit, more water, less alcohol, less creamy foods, almost no chips/fries, etc. The great thing about it is that it’s FREE, I’m motivating myself, and I can eat what I like. If I pig out for a day or two the chart shows it (the red spikes!), but on the whole I eat what I like, when I like, and I’m still losing weight.

If anyone is really serious about losing weight, I’d heartily recomment the http://www.physicsdiet.com website. It’s free, you don’t have to make your chart public and you can add all kinds of details like body fat percentage, calories you take in and lose, etc. It even figures out your BMI if you want to put in your height. The only thing is, it’s only available in US standard measurements (pounds and feet), so if you’re in the UK you’ll have to convert from stone to pounds, or kilos to pounds. There are other ways to do the math, I’m sure there’s an Excel chart one can download, but this site does it all automatically.

Leave a Reply

